New Zealand win toss, bat against Sri Lanka at T20 World Cup

29 October 2022, 05:18 pm | Updated: 07 December 2023, 12:43 pm

New Zealand win toss, bat against Sri Lanka at T20 World Cup
Photo: Collected

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat against Sri Lanka in their third game of the Twenty20 World Cup Super 12 on Saturday, reports AFP.

Group 1 is wide open after both matches in Melbourne on Friday -- Australia v England and Afghanistan v Ireland -- were washed out.

Whoever wins at the Sydney Cricket Ground will top the group and be in a strong position to make the semi-finals.

Allrounder Daryl Mitchell returns for New Zealand from a fractured hand, with Mark Chapman making way.

Sri Lanka are without fast bowler Binura Fernando, who is out of the tournament with a hamstring injury, with Kasun Rajitha taking his place.

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Finn Allen, Kane Williamson (capt), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

Category : Sports